top of page

TAGIEs - Celebrating the Makers of Play!

2013 Toy & Game Innovation Awards

The TAGIEs are an elegant and playful evening gala that brings together industry leaders from inventors to manufacturers to retailers as well as the public for a celebratory evening of innovators and inventors from around the world.

The Toy & Game Innovation Awards are voted on by industry experts, retailers and consumers to recognize recipients for excellence in various categories. The TAGIEs also recognize the teams the inventors worked with at the companies that brought their ideas to life. This collaboration and inventiveness has resulted in the most fun and entertaining play products on the market today. We also honor to those inventor greats who stand out in the toy industry for their exceptionally innovative spirit of fun, philanthropy, and humanitarianism.

2013 TAGIEs Stage

Thank You to Our Sponsors! 

Rich Mazel, Jim McCafferty, Dougal Grimes, Andrew Jeas (TAGIES 2013 Keynote)

2013 Highlights!

Jim McCafferty - 2013 TAGIE Awards Keynote

2013 TAGIEs Winners

Chong Choon Ng

Rainbow Loom

Toy Design 2013


Accepting: Sarah Baskin

Electronic Adaptation 2013

Tom Quinn

Play Monster 

Game Design 2013

Invented Exploding Kittens

Invented Malia’s Beach House

Invented the Millenium Falcon

Debra Sterling


Rising Star 2013

Nick Metzler


Young Inventor 2013

2013 Keynote and TAGIEs Honorees

Jim McCafferty

JMP Creative


Andre Cassagnes


In Memoriam

Howard Morrison

Lifetime Achievement Award

Dan and his partners have created products such as Bop It, HyperGames, PC Playsets, Perplexus and so much more! 

Wayne Luther and Michael Gray

Inventor Advocacy

Music provided by Skip Towne and the Grehounds, Chicago's #1 Blues Band! The band's music is hard-driving, heartfelt, classic blues, jazz, swing, ballads, and downright good time Rockin’ Blues.

6th Annual TAGIE Awards (2013)



Tim Walsh

Introduction to Keynote:

Douglas Grimes, Rich Mazel, Andrew Jeas, Hasbro


Jim McCafferty, JMP Creative

2013 Recipient for Excellence in Toy Design

Winner: Cheong Choon Ng, Rainbow Loom, Choon's Design

Presenter: Marty Abrams, I-Star Entertainment

Finalist: Wim Outboter, Microlino Airseat Hybrid

Finalist: Sean Frawley, Aero Force Flight Designs

Finalist: Jon Capriola, ZippyDo

Finalist: Bruce Lund, Dino Construction Company


2013 Recipient for Excellence in Game Design

Winner: Tom Quinn, Quinn & Sherry

Presenter: Joan Severance, Actress, Game Inventor

Finalist: Mark Setteducati, HolograFX

Finalist: Matthew Leacock, Forbidden Desert

Finalist: Nicholas Cravotta & Rebecca Bleau, Pixel Flip


2013 Recipient for Rising Star Inventor

Winner: Debra Sterling, GoldieBlox

Presenter: Larry Roznai, Mayfair Games

Finalists Ashley Mady, Scanimalz

Finalist: Andrew Comfort, Q-BA-MAZE

Finalist: Luke Hopper, Laser Maze

Finalist: Ali Kermani, Razor Crazy Cart


2013 Recipient for Electronic Adaptation

Winner: Leapfrog Design Team

Presenter: Carter Keithley, Toy Industry Association

Finalist: Dan Klitsner & KID Group with Hasbro Design Team, BOP-IT! Tetris

Finalist: John Vignocchi, Disney Infinity

Finalist: Leapfrog Design Team with Brendan Boyle, leapfrog Creativity Camera

Finalist: Richard Levy, Caleb Chung, Dave Hapton, Furby Boom


2013 Recipient for Young Inventor

Nick Metzler, Squashed

Presenter: Yarrow Kraner, HATCH Experience

Finalist: Ben Guillot, MasterKitz

Finalist: Ishmael King, King of 20

Finalist: William Georges, Pezo Pals

Finalist: Michael Cushellas, Mission Unboxable

2013 Honoree for In Memoriam  

Andre Cassagnes (1926 - 2013), Etch-A-Sketch

Presenter: Bill Killgallon, Ohio Art

2013 Honorees for Inventor Advocacy

Wayne Luther and Michael Gray, Hasbro

Presenter: Phil Sage, Hasbro


2013 Honoree for Lifetime Achievement

Howard MorrisonBig Monster Toys

Presenter: Jeffrey Breslow

bottom of page